Cheryl Hardy: Featured Mosaic Artist

Cheryl Hardy Picture“I have been a contributor to the Mosaic since 2013 after having met Nadya El Gohary who told me of this wonderful cause. 
I decided to support your Mosaic project because I worked for 13 years as a student assistant with developmentally challenged children, and feel your work is very important to the lives of those dealing with the various aspects of mental illness.”

“I was born in St. John’s NL, and moved to Wabush Labrador in 1970. As a child I loved to draw. In high school I joined the Art Club but wasn’t given the opportunity to take art courses. However the art teacher, Miss. Daphne Rose, contacted me after graduation to let me know that she was offering a painting course through the YWCA. I shall forever be grateful for the nudge she gave me which started me on the path to the my artistic development.”

“In 1975 I took an adult oil painting night course at the school being offered by Ed Owen the art teacher at J.R. Smallwood School and later joined the Labrador West Visual Arts group where I had the opportunity to access workshops with by such NL artists as Gerry Squires, Chris Peet, Kathleen Knowling, and NS artist Steven Rhude to name a few.”

“I paint in Acrylic and Watercolor and my interest is in painting realistic pieces portraying my town, my home and my family and friends. I do commissions occasionally.  In recent years have endeavored to pay it forward by giving art lessons to youth who have the interest to draw and paint. I owe the progress I have made to those I’ve had the opportunity to study with and especially my mentors of the Labrador West Visual Arts group where we regularly meet and critique each other’s work.”

My Blog :    http://cherylhardy.blogspot.ca/

About mosaicformentalhealth

The Canadian Mental Health Association is a nationwide voluntary organization that promotes the mental health of all and supports the resilience and recovery of people experiencing mental illness. CMHA accomplishes this mission through advocacy, education, research and services.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.