Paulette Melanson: Featured Mosaic Artist

Paulette Melanson - Painting plein-air in Peggy's Cove

“My art work is about the force of nature, the fragility of life and the connection of all things. Love of nature and love of art have been my life long companions getting me through good times and hard times. My paintings express what I have found along the way. In my way of seeing the world, there are masterpieces everywhere I look. Wherever I find myself, I am instantly enthralled by the sights, sounds and feel of nature however small it may present itself.

“I grew up in Scoudouc, NB and moved to Nova Scotia in 1985. I have been drawing and painting ever since I can remember however did not pursue serious art studies until the late 80’s when I began continuing education classes at the NS College of Art and Design. I have been showing my work since 2008.

“I work primarily in acrylic, watercolour and mixed media. My current works include landscapes and abstract paintings inspired by my Acadian background and surroundings in St Margaret’s Bay and the South Shore of Nova Scotia.

“My good friend, Valerie Shaffner, introduced me to Mosaic for Mental Health in 2011 and I have been contributing painted tiles ever since (five years).  Mosaic for Mental Health is a wonderful fundraiser. Although creating art has been a big part of my life, the majority of my work career was spent working as an Employee Assistance Counsellor and a Conflict Resolution Advisor. This gave me a great appreciation of the importance of mental health services and community support. It feels good to contribute to the funding of services and programs of CMHA Halifax-Dartmouth. I hope to participate for many years to come.”

To learn more about Paulette and to see some of her artwork visit: http://www.paulettemelansonartist.com/

About mosaicformentalhealth

The Canadian Mental Health Association is a nationwide voluntary organization that promotes the mental health of all and supports the resilience and recovery of people experiencing mental illness. CMHA accomplishes this mission through advocacy, education, research and services.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.